Rishikesh Yogkulam

Kundalini Chakra


Clear Those Chakras – Find Out Why


No, this is not the blue circle with 24 spokes on the national flag that we wave each year. By the way, do they really have 24 spokes? Count next year. Anyway, coming back, it’s neither that wheel our mahatma sat to spin cloth on. But, at the same time, it still refers to a wheel. And this is the wheel we are going to have a look at here.

These so-called wheels are the energy channels in our bodies. There are about seven of them and we shall have a look at them here. A chakra runs along the length of your spine, right from your feet to the crown of your head. Okay, let’s look at these here.


1.The Root Chakra –

This is the chakra that is located at the base of your spine, in what is normally known as the tailbone. We usually connect this to the earth. It keeps us grounded and our inner life stable, controlling our food, sleep and other basic needs. The root chakra develops somewhere between the ages of one to seven.


2. The Sacral Chakra

Now, this is the chakra that is located at the pelvis, usually seen as the orange lotus with six petals. It determines how creative, emotional and flexible we are. So, as suggested, it regulates all our desires. This develops at the ages of eight to fourteen.


3. The Naval Chakra –

Again, as the name suggests, this is the chakra situated at the belly button. It is seen as a red triangle, facing upward or downward. It regulates our life experiences. The naval chakra appears from the ages of 15 to 21.


4. The Heart Chakra

Again, aren’t these all self-explanatory. Here is a chakra that is situated at the heart. It represents the self and is associated with peace, love and energy.


5. Throat chakra

At the base of the throat is where you will find it. This is associated with space and is once again responsible for energy and self-expression.


6. Third Eye

And finally, we come to the third eye, the eye that Saint Rita got pierced with a thorn of Jesus while in prayer. This is represented by the two white petals of a lotus and is responsible for the mind. It goes beyond the physique and the body. Imagination, interior knowledge and self-assurance are some of the things taken care of here.


7. The Crown

Finally, we come to the crown. This is represented by a lotus of a thousand petals. As the name goes, it goes to do with consciousness and does not deal with the body and the physique. It has more to do with the divine and the highest of self. It helps you get enlightened.

So, there you are, and there are your seven chakras. So, the next time you hear the word in a yoga class, you need not seem lost as you know what they refer to.


Why Are Chakras Important?

Okay, so now let’s look at what the significance that chakras have on health is. A lot of times, a certain problem in your body can be related to a certain chakra. A chakra that could be blocked could create issues like this. For instance bladder issues, colon problems, digestive issues could all have a direct relation to a chakra. Now, have you thought of that?

So, what does yoga do? It opens that blocked or clogged chakra so you can be physically and emotionally fit again. Chakras are the energy centers of your body and a source of getting fit.

Damage to the root chakra can make you feel threatened and unstable. A good way to unblock this blocked chakra is to perform the warrior 1 pose. This is a simple pose without any twists and turns and can be done by those at the beginner level too.

And if you have difficulty opening up and trusting people, then cases are there is something wrong with the heart chakra. You could try the camel pose to get this unblocked.

However, this is not an easy pose so ensure that you get all the guidance that you need before you plunge into this.


Final Words

And at the end of the day, remember that it all depends on the God above who governs your entire body mind and spirit. Be good, do good, love your creator and rest assured that He will take care of every part of your body, every wheel that governs your different senses, every decision you decide to take and every thought you think. Because at the end of the day, no therapy could work if you don’t share a connection with the God above who governs every inch of your body, mind and spirit.


Other Blogs:

  1.  How To Do Anjali Mudra (Namaste Mudra) and its Benefits
  2. How to do Shirshasana (Headstand Pose) {Steps, Precautions & Benefits}
  3. How to do Sarvangasana (Shoulder stand pose)? Steps, Precautions & Benefits
  4. How To Practice Anulom Vilom Pranayama Steps and Benefits
  5. How to do Yoganidrasana (Sleeping Yogi Yoga Pose) and its benefits    
  6. How to Perform Tulasana (Scale Pose) and Its Health Benefits
  7. Bhramari Pranayama (Bee Breath) -Steps and Benefits
  8. Bahya Pranayama {Benefits, Steps and Full Guidance}
  9. 6 Types Yogic kriyas and Their Benefits You Need to Know
  10. Viloma Pranayama and Its Benefits
  11. 7 Tips To Boost Your Immune System
  12. Health Benefits of Paschimottanasana (Seated Forward Bend)
  13. Health Benefits of Mandukasana (Frog Pose)
  14. What is the Purpose of Asana?
  15. Uddiyana Bandha Step By Step Instruction
  16. Beat the Stress! Try Yoga!
  17. Clear Those Chakras – Find Out Why
  18. Irregular Menstrual Cycles and Yoga!



Search By Keyword

Our Best Courses

100 Hour Yoga TTC

Duration:1st-11th (Every Month)

Price:$650 (Shared)

Read More

200 Hour Yoga TTC

Duration:1st-23th (Every Month)

Price:$1100 (Shared)

Read More

300 Hour Yoga TTC

Duration:1st-29th (Every Month)

Price:$1350 (Shared)

Read More

500 Hour Yoga TTC

Duration:1st-29th Next Month (Every Month)

Price:$2400 (Shared)

Read More

200 Hour Online Yoga TTC

Duration:1st-28th (Every Month)


Read More